Rugby Union 4 years ago

Teams: Chiefs v Rebels

  • Teams: Chiefs v Rebels

The Chiefs host the Rebels at the Waikato Stadium in round 9 of the Super Rugby competition this weekend. Below are the confirmed starting lineups for both sides.

The Chiefs have decided to rest eight players for this weekends clash, resting captain Liam Messam to the bench, while Jamie Mackintosh, Michael Fitzgerald and Tanerau Latimer are back in the starting team. Aaron Cruden's thumb injury means Gareth Anscombe will move to flyhalf, with Bundee Aki filling in the hole in the starting lineup. Mils Muliaini moves to the wing, with Tom Marshall starting at fullback. Brodie Retallick will captain the side in the absence of the two co-captains (Cruden and Messam) from the starting fifteen.

Tony McGahan has only made two changes to the Rebels side this week, with Colby Fainga'a returning from an injury to start at blindside and Sean McMahon being relegated to the bench; Jordy Reid drops out of the squad altogether. Tom Kingston comes in to replace Alex Rokobaro in the replacements.

You might also like

CHIEFS: 1. Mackintosh, 2. Marshall, 3. Tameifuna, 4. Fitzgerald, 5. Retallick (c), 6. Latimer, 7. Cane, 8. Thompson, 9. Pulu, 10. Anscombe, 11. Muliaina, 12. Aki, 13. Horrell, 14. Nanai-Williams, 15. Marshall
Replacements:16. Harris, 17. Manu, 18. Hohneck, 19. Filipo, 20. Messam, 21. Kerr-Barlow, 22. Lienert-Brown, 23. Payne

REBELS: 1. Smith, 2. Horie, 3. Weeks, 4. Pyle, 5. Jones, 6. Fainga'a, 7. Fuglistaller, 8. Higginbotham (c), 9. Stirzaker, 10. Hegarty, 11. English, 12. Inman, 13. Ellison, 14. Sau, 15. Woodward
Replacements: 16. Leafa, 17. Ah-Nau, 18. Alo-Emilie, 19. Neville, 20. McMahon, 21. Burgess, 22. Kingston, 23. Roberts

Follow @JordanKounelis on Twitter for his views on the world.

0 0
please wait...